Tags

, , , ,

No worries, I won’t launch another Copy-Paste-Bomb. But this essay might become of further interest in dealing with Pater’s views on Coleridge, that I have decided sort of to look into while I deal with other stuff.

I am happy to redirect you to an exerpt – well, a complete chapter, no less – from David J. Delaura’s very interesting book Hebrew and Hellene in Victorian England: Newman, Arnold, and Pater:

“Coleridge” and the Higher Morality

For me personally, this is quite exciting, because my knowledge to Coleridge’s actual reception has been very limited; like, you know who the man was, you know that he likely belongs at least to 19th century literary canon, but, as with many literary figures, you don’t quite come to know why exactly he had such an impact. Most literary icons of the 19th century, for example, earned their place in literary history mainly by being widely read, or simply by being part of the convenient literary clique. – However, about one or two generations after the author’s death, that effect usually fades, as more objective criticism replaces political manoeuvering.

With Coleridge, I’ve always wondered when that began. I think “it began with Pater” might be one answer.

