Tags

, , ,

I am a literary historian.

I tend to idealize the topics and the people I work about.

 

I should not read the news.

 

So, you might know that the descendants of John Taylor Coleridge, Samuel Taylor Coleridge’s brother James’ son (still following?) are, as members of the English nobility, still quite present in English society and politics.

Perhaps I should dwell a little bit further into this, because I am not quite sure, but, quite unfortunately, it seems they like to make, uuuhm, unfortunate decisions.

Now, I am nobody to judge those people, given how little I in the end know about them, but the image I get from is not a very flattering one.

 

So, Sir Paul Coleridge, Senior High Court Judge, descendant of John Taylor Coleridge, son of Major James Bernard Coleridge, and grandson of Paul Humphrey Coleridge, has recently launched The Marriage Foundation, which, at first glance, at least, seems to resemble one of those reactionary think tanks that one well knows from the media already – you know, the people that lobby politician’s backrooms with their anti-women, anti-gay agenda.

 

While I don’t want to make this blog about politics, and don’t have the time nor the inclination to investigate this matter further than on a very superficial level, but let it be known that I don’t appreciate people who discriminate against others. Personally, I think, this Marriage Foundation is a travesty. It’s so hard for British upper class not to appear like characters from a Michael Innes novel anyway. I read  crap like that, I think, Lord Mullion’s Secret.

Here are some sources about The Marriage Foundation. Form your own opinion if Sir Coleridge was, uuuh, just shot by an albatross, or something:

Article from “The Telegraph”

Article from “The Daily Mail”

Article from “The Huffington Post”

Comment on “The Huffington Post”, by Sandra Davis

Another “HuffPo” comment, by Vicky McLynn

http://www.marriagefoundation.org.uk

