Tags

, ,

This would be the cover art.

Tivadar

The artist’s name is Tivadar Kosztka Csontváry (1853-1919), and the painting’s name is “The Old Fisherman”.

Csontváry is today treated as sort of Hungary’s national painter, not unlike Picasso in Spain, of whom his works were personal favorites, if my memory doesn’t fail me.

He is generally regarded as one of Europe’s first artisitc Expressionists, though I… Confession: Art history, together with math, is my Achills heel. If I had not been told otherwise, based on this picture, I would likely have regarded him a late disciple of the French school of Symbolism. I also have no idea how famous this painting is; I was truly excited by the find.

Anyway, if you don’t know the trick yet, look at the picture for a really long while; the painting contains an awesome, wonderfully fitting phenomenon colloquially referred to as a “mindfuck” in our day and age. Enjoy!

