Tags

, , , , , , ,

hirez_04

Why, yes, I identify with Aragorn!

Scruffy beard, unkempt hair, and a goddamn claymore!

THE TIME HAS COME…

To hoover my study, listening to instrumental music from movie trailers!

As I explained a few weeks back, some substantial changes are ahead for Your Coleridge’s blog. Those who follow the blog for a longer while might or might not recall that I recently moved from Spain back to Germany after a three-year stint, and will start a new, less adventurous, but more secure, and, well, more controled way of life.

(My adventures in Spain could fill a blog on their own. Taunt me enough, and some day I will tell you.)

Now, my new situation brings a few changes for Your Coleridge – not all too big ones, but some that are worth a longer introduction:

  1. First, that my posts will come less frequently. For the last few months, I could post almost daily. Now, I will supply you with new material about once or twice per week. Not really that of a scandalous news, but just thought I’d make that clear, lest anybody thinks the blog was dying.
  2. The gameplan for this year still applies; first, “The Road to Xanadu”. Then, Lavoisier. Then, Poe, Baudelaire, and into Modernism.
  3. My personal focus of interest remains on Coleridge’s two arguably best-known poems; the Mariner, and Kubla Khan. I tell you that because, at this stage, I appreciate whenever somebody points to me to something I don’t know about those poems yet. 🙂 Not that there’d be any urgency. Just saying… 🙂

Most importantly, the main focus of the blog will shift, though: Until now, the posts have been fairly random collections of, well, stuff I considered interesting.

STARTING MARCH 1ST, 2013…

…Every second post, or so, will deal with me giving you a sort of guided read, a written lecture even, of James Livingston Lowes’ The Road to Xanadu, which has the fame of being the most important book on Coleridge of the 20th century, and is often referred to as no less than the most important book on Coleridge ever written. So, high time we give it a closer look: The book’s first edition was released in 1927, mind you. Science, and the world in general, have… Let’s just say, they have moved on. Does the book still stand this test of time?

I will be using this particular reprint edition:

In all likelihood, it will NOT be necessary to own or read the book on your own to follow my ramblings here, but it might be worth a thought: Reading the chapters with me might, quite simply, be fun, and, after the book is a classic of literary criticism.

Below, the amazon.com link:

CLICKY

I have to confess, I am excited to see where this is going to take me. Never in my wildest dreams would I have thought an author so obscure as Coleridge would inspire this much dedication in me! 🙂 Happy reading, everybody! 🙂

