Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

See, I stole the award from Movies, Silently – or, well, the award button, actually, because the author of that blog was so kind to award me with the Versatile Blogger Award, and I liked the logo he designed way better than the other ones. 🙂

I should say, I am not a big reader of blogs outside the blogosphere, but  Movies, Silently is one the few ones that I frequently check. I am a lover of Expressionist poetry, and that topic goes really hand in hand with early film making.

Speaking of which, we will take a very close look at Shackleton, and his voyage on the Endurance in the upcoming weeks – and at the amazing movie material that came of it. So,  Movies, Silently might well be a source I quote in this context; it’s the best blog on the topic I know, plain and simple.

By the way, again I hope you, my dear readers don’t think I am losing focus: My big, chapter-by-chapter review of The Road to Xanadu will start over the upcoming weeks, as promised. It’s just that I modify my progress here, as the progress of my personal research goes on – whatever topic I stumble upon that I need to elaborate, echoes here. 🙂

— But back to the Versatile Blogger Award, and all matters related.

The Rules

  1. Thank the person who nominated you. Done. 🙂
  2. Include a link to their blog. Done. 🙂
  3. Select 15 new blog/bloggers you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.
  4. Nominate those bloggers for a Versatile Blogger Award, leave a link to their page and a comment on their latest post to let them know they’ve been nominated.
  5. Tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

My Seven

  1. I am actually a life-long fan of Star Wars, referring to some of my best pals as “Luke” Skywalker”, and “Chewbacca”, and to myself as Han Solo.
  2. …I have that in mind because I just bought a new RD-D2 cookie jar.
  3. “Jin Roh”, “Eastern Promises”, and, brace yourself, “Robin Hood – Prince of Thieves”, as well as Robert Taylor’s “Ivanhoe” are my favorite movies of all time.
  4. In my night desk I find condoms, a flashlight, gum, and the poems of Hart Crane.
  5. The strongest I have ever identified with a person on TV was with the undercover agent in the Asian Noir movie Infernal Affairs.
  6. I enjoy watching cage fights, and, since forever, my favorite fighters to watch have been Wanderlei Silva, and the long-retired Genki Sudo. My eyes sweat when Wandy KO’ed Stann earlier this spring.
  7. My flat is full of goddamn elephant posters, statues, and furniture. Yes, the animal with the trunk. Why, I don’t really know. Freudian reflex much?

TO BE CONTINUED.

