Tags

, , , , , , ,

So, with this Frosty quote, I am happy to announce:

Holidays are over, or rather, holidays have just begun!

I am back from my break, and hope to entertain you all with more splinters and shenanigans from one of the certainly most interesting poets in British literary history. In my humble opinion. And, likely, yours, too, if you’re reading this blog.

I am really just back from my self-imposed exile, so I have little no content to provide as of now. I have a preview for what will be coming in the next few months, though:

First, you might notice that my posts will be less frequent, but also less random. I have found my field of investigation concerning Mr C, and that I will pursue. Hence, you may expect more bits on the formidable Mr James Livingston Lowes, on the French Revolution, and likely an extended look at the Spanish painter Francisco de Goya. Friends of the blog, Ben Manning, and poet Phillip A Ellis have agreed to provide extensive write-ups on some of our topics here, and of course, I have a whole library of texts that might be interesting to the Coleridgian in the know.

Outside of that, I am somewhat happy that I could take my mind off my mind over the last few weeks; no Coleridge, whatsoever in June and July. A bit Talleyrand, though, but that’s another story for another time.

My internet connection is crappy tonight, for whatever reason, so not hotlinks in this article yet; I’ll insert them later on, though, no worries.

One small tidbit from my time off is there that I’d like to share, though:

It seems Hollywood has discovered 19th-century period movies once again for an ambitious Oscar bet. This time, it’s the story of Solomon Northup, who spent the epinomous 12 years in slavery, even though being born as a free man. (Well, in my opinion, every slave is born as a free man, but whatever.) I am very, very excited to see this picture; while I am not a particular enthusiast for Spike Lee-ish meditations on race, I know the original text, Northup’s biography, a bit, and this – done well – could be a cinematic milestone.

 

 

